Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority of Saskatchewan

FCAA is Saskatchewan’s financial and consumer marketplace regulator.

The Board of Directors

  • Roger Sobotkiewicz – Chairperson

    Roger Sobotkiewicz Roger Sobotkiewicz was appointed Chairperson of the Authority on February 4, 2016. Prior to that, he held the position of acting Chairperson since February 1, 2015. He is also the CEO of the Authority and holds a number of statutory appointments, including Superintendent of Insurance, Superintendent of Pensions, Superintendent of Financial Institutions and Registrar of Credit Unions. Mr. Sobotkiewicz acted as legal counsel for the Authority for more than a decade, during which time he led a number of significant policy initiatives for the Authority. Prior to joining the Authority, he practiced law in private practice and in the Crown sector. He holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Manitoba.

    Peter Carton – Member

    Peter Carton Peter Carton was appointed to the Authority in June 2009. Mr. Carton retired in 2007 from a career spanning thirty years with the Royal Bank of Canada. He has background in all areas of retail banking; most recently, he was the Regional Vice President for Commercial Banking covering Saskatchewan, Manitoba and NW Ontario. Mr. Carton holds an MBA from Dalhousie.

    Gordon Hamilton – Member

    Gordon Hamilton Gordon Hamilton was appointed to the Authority in June 2009. Mr. Hamilton is a lawyer in private practice with the Saskatchewan firm, McDougall Gauley LLP. He has extensive experience in labour relations and administrative law, having served as Vice Chairperson of the Canada Industrial Relations Board. Mr. Hamilton also has a background in co-operatives and Saskatchewan credit unions. He held senior positions at Affinity Credit Union, the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool (now Viterra), and Federated Co-operatives Limited.

    Mary Ann McFadyen – Member

    Mary Ann McFadyen Mary Ann McFadyen was appointed to the Authority in June 2009. Ms. McFadyen was associated with the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce for over thirty years. She was the executive Director and CEO of the Chamber for more than two decades. In recognition of her contribution to Canadian business she received the Canada 125 Award and was named one of the ten most influential women in Saskatchewan by Saskatchewan Business Magazine.

    Howard Crofts – Member

    Howard CroftsHoward Crofts was appointed to the Authority in December 2015. He is a Chartered Professional Accountant (FCPA, FCA) and holds a Bachelor of Administration degree from the University of Saskatchewan. He spent his career working in public practice providing assurance, tax and business advisory services to clients in a variety of industries. For 10 years prior to retiring from MNP LLP in 2012, he held various leadership roles at the Firm’s regional and national levels. He currently serves as a member of the boards of directors and various committees of Saskatchewan Cancer Agency, Pro Docs Ltd., and as an independent member of TD Greystone Managed Investments Inc.’s Pension and Pooled Fund Independent Review Committees.  He was formerly a member of the boards of directors of Saskatchewan Government Insurance (SGI), SGI Canada Insurance Services Ltd., Coachman Insurance Company, Saskatchewan Auto Fund, and Group Medical Services Inc.

    Dave Tulloch - Member

    Dave TullochDave works for the Ministries of Justice and Attorney General and Corrections and Policing as the Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for Corporate Services. Prior to joining Justice in 2010, Dave held senior financial positions in the Ministries of Environment and Education. From 1999 to 2006 Dave worked for the provincial wildfire program, and was responsible for developing and implementing a strategic planning and performance management framework. Through most of his career Dave has worked within the financial management functions of the provincial government. Dave holds a Master of Business Administration from the University of Saskatchewan, along with undergraduate degrees from the University of Regina in Business and Economics. In 2010, he obtained a Certified Management Accountant designation. He has served on the board since mid 2017.

    Norm Halldorson - Member

    Norm Halldorson holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan, with Honours and with Distinction, and is a Chartered Professional Accountant. Norm has extensive private sector experience, having retired in 2008 from forty years in public practice with KPMG, Calgary and Saskatoon, including several senior leadership positions. Norm’s primary focus was service to owner managed business, and provided audit, tax, business advisory and financing services.

    Norm served his profession as a member of Council, chaired several of their committees, and represented them on the U of S Senate. He chaired the SK Chamber Awards for Business Excellence [ABEX] and was a Founding Director for the SK chapter of the Canadian Association of Family Enterprise [CAFÉ]. In 1995 Norm was awarded an FCA designation for distinguished service.

    Recently, Norm served as a Director on the Board of Management of Canada Revenue Agency, and Chair of their Audit Committee. This is a Privy Council appointment. The Board, with representatives from all parts of Canada, has responsibility for overseeing the organization and administration of the Agency and the management of its resources, services, property, personnel and contracts. Norm also serves on the Board of a private company in the hospitality industry, and serves on the Development Appeals Board for the RM of Blucher.

    Financial and Consumer Affairs Authority

    Suite 601, 1919 Saskatchewan Drive

    Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 4H2

    Tel: (306)787-5645

    Fax: (306)787-5899

Agree Term